Discovering Tong

Royal coat of Arms 1814

Picture 5 of 45

Previous Previous  Next Next

The Royal coat of Arms were the gift of George Jellicoe of Little Chatwell 4th Jan 1814 commemorating the Peace of Paris and Napoleon’s exile to Elba.

George Jellicoe’s uncle was buried in the church at Tong.

Coade stone was used for many fine monuments in London between 1769 and 1833. It cost £3 12s 4d to transport it from London in 1815. The sculpture itself cost over £60 (equivalent to a few thousand in modern terms).

Royal coat of Arms 1814
© Copyright text based on Tong Church guide by R.M.C. Jeffery , picture R.J.L. Smith, Much Wenlock

Please help us save our church for the generations to come. Details are on our donate page. For more of the fascinating history of Tong please visit our Discovering Tong book pages.

Copyright © 2007 through 2014 Discovering Tong